Firing up the club…..

In September 2015 I felt that I had had enough of martial arts. As a result I made the decision to shut down my club and to rethink in which direction I want to take my passion for martial arts. I had been downloadlost in mixing Karate, Wrestling and Boxing as the combination had led to confusion. Trying to fit all of the concepts together had resulted in a drop in teaching quality for my students. I have explained this issue in one of my previous articles so I will not dwell on it here.
When I moved to the U.K. I was reluctant to make money on teaching martial arts as I thought I might lose my passion for it. In reality, by fighting against this I have not been able to focus on martial arts enough, which ironically led to me losing passion for it. In the nine years that I have spent in the UK I have mistreated my Karate and had followed the fashion of focussing on MMA. I had pushed aside Karate and in the back of my mind considered it to be a lesser art. When teaching I was also subconsciously trying to please everybody – I worried what they will think about what and how I teach. Realising that my interest in martial arts was starting to wane I concluded it would be best to close the club and have a break

12592351_1678773465694202_6825074418275605908_nAfter five months of no martial arts I felt an emptiness and that something was missing in my life. Following a few coincidences (or perhaps fate) Karate is back in my life stronger than ever and I now have a sense of clarity of where I want to take it or perhaps I should say, where it wishes to lead me. I may have given up on Karate, but it did not give up on me.
Martial arts seminar opportunities are now unfolding before me; the more I go to the more offers I receive to teach at events. I am also surprised to see that the number of people contacting me about joining my club has increased substantially.

12669701_1678652079039674_8880286587380242706_nEven my work leads me to Karate. By chance I have been invited to run Karate classes as therapy sessions by the charity organisation, The Welcome Project. Another surprising event was chatting with a group that I volunteer with about creating Karate sessions for seniors. This meditative form of Karate is based on kata exercises. This is a very intriguing concept that I will embark on from the beginning of March. The classes will be called Taiso (the Japanese for exercises).Untitled

All of this makes me think that maybe it is my path in life to teach Karate. Given this I am restoring the club and have started to promote it, only this time I will just be teaching the Karate that I know and love.I wait nervously to see where this path is going to take me.

6 thoughts on “Firing up the club…..

  1. Three cheers for you Les — never stop!

    What you’ve discovered is that what you do is far less important than how you do it. A less effective technique performed with sincerity beats a devastating one performed half-halfheartedly. My wife appreciates a passionate card and a kiss far more than a visit from the florist.

    The thought really does count. Because true artistic expression, flowing from the heart, never fails to inspire.

    Karate is an art, a true way. MMA, as fun and in many ways effective as it may be, will never compare or satisfy because it has no soul.

    In 2000 I had a crisis of faith in Korean Karate and gave it up for Boxing, Wrestling, and Savate. But I was missing: the spiritual stuff. So in 2008 I married Western esoteric philosophy with Western martial arts to create my own martial art — Cabal Fang. And you know what? Over 500 people have been touched by the art I’ve created.

    Art is a verb — art harder!

  2. I enjoyed this post. I’ve been involved in training so many martial arts I feel like I get lost as well. I too have had to take a step back and remember why I took this path in the first place.
    I’m glad to see that you have re energized yourself and wish you all the success in the future.

  3. I think it’s funny in a way that I too found myself recently in the martial arts, but my problem was that for so long I had been focusing solely on a single art at a time, when deep inside me, I knew I had a strong passion for elements of all types of different martial arts!

    I don’t care for MMA (UFC style), but I certainly do enjoy MMA as in actual mixed martial arts, where you blend, combine, and borrow elements of any system, style, or art that works for you.

    And that to me is the most important thing: “What works for you” doesn’t mean what defeats opponents on the “street”. What can work for you is finding your spiritual path, honing your will, focusing your life, becoming stronger, and so much more.

    So, while I love and respect the idea of focusing solely on one art and dedicating yourself to it, I found that for myself, I need the opposite, because I love martial arts as a whole. I don’t plan on “blending different styles”, but I plan on doing whatever I find works for me, and I honestly don’t care where that information comes from!

    Great post and thoughts! ^_^

    • Thank you, staying in one style does not mean not learning from other styles, systems, schools 🙂 we need to be always hungry for knowledge but have the core to build on. Everyone have their own way to achieve
      the destination 🙂

Leave a Reply

